Monday, March 27th, 2023

Nairobi Governor Johnson Sakaja selected as one of the Young Global Leaders for 2023

Nairobi Governor Johnson Sakaja selected as one of the Young Global Leaders for 2023


Nairobi Governor Johnson Sakaja

Nairobi Governor, Johnson Sakaja, has been chosen as one of the Young Global Leaders Aliko Dangote Fellows for 2023.

He is among 12 African leaders who have been recognized for their efforts to change the continent for the better in their respective fields.

Before his appointment as Governor, Sakaja was a Senator for Nairobi, where he championed the creation of policies.

He was also a nominated member of parliament.

As a member of the National Security, Defense, and Foreign Relations committee, he played a significant role in regional integration, national security, and foreign relations agreements, treaties, and conventions.

While in office, Sakaja sponsored several bills, including the Public Procurement and Asset Disposal Act, 2015, which reserves 30 per cent of procurement opportunities for youth, women, and people with disabilities.

He also sponsored the National Youth Employment Authority Bill, which helps job seekers find opportunities and prepares them through training programs.

Sakaja's leadership skills and commitment to youth empowerment have earned him recognition in the past.

He was awarded the African Achievers Award Change-Maker of the Year and the Jacob Well Award for Men Impacting Differently in 2016.

The Young Global Leaders Aliko Dangote Fellowship is awarded to exceptional individuals under the age of 40 who have demonstrated leadership in their respective fields.

The fellowship provides a platform for young leaders to network and collaborate to create sustainable solutions to global challenges.

The other Young Global Leaders Aliko Dangote Fellows for 2023 are

1. Peace Hyde - Ghana

2. Uche Pedro - Nigeria

3. Tokini Peterside - Nigeria

4. Abdigani Diriye - Kenya

5. Oluseun Onigbinde - Nigeria

6. Vukosi Marivate - South Africa

7. Gregory Rockson - Ghana

8. Aïssata Lam - Mauritania

9. Walter Da Cruz Pacheco - Angola

10. Kow Abaka Essuman - Ghana

11. Roselyne Chambrier - Côte d'Ivoire.

Sakaja Young Global Leaders for 2023
Related Posts
About Author
Ruby Kerubo : Editor Viral News

News Editor at Viral News Ke

You May Also Like